Eastland-Fairfield CTC News Article

Eastland students earn top national honors in BPA contests

Eastland Career Center students participating in Business Professionals of America earned honors during the BPA National Leadership Celebration virtual event that was held in the place of the annual BPA National Leadership Conference. The in-person conference and contests were canceled due to the global coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic.

The team of Jazzmin Days (Reynoldsburg High School eSTEM Academy), Malcolm Harrell (Groveport-Madison High School), Jayla Neal (Reynoldsburg High School Bell Academy), and Jonathan Pinkerton (Pickerington High School North), all students in the Eastland Interactive Media program, earned the top spot in the BPA’s first-ever “Students Recruiting Students Video Contest sponsored by Avidity Creates”. The team will receive a $500 financial award, earn the opportunity to have professional mentorship from the sponsoring agency, and their winning video will be included in the National organization’s video library for agency-wide use. Neal was also elected as the BPA National Secondary Historian. 

Cody Factor (Reynoldsburg High School) and Chad Huffman (Reynoldsburg High School), also students in Eastland’s Interactive Media program, placed in the top 10 nationwide in the Virtual Multimedia Promotions team contest.

The team of Noah Dean (Teays Valley High School), Alex Horvath (Groveport Madison High School), Jared Klausman (Groveport Madison High School), and Aaron Lucas (Groveport Madison High School), all students in Eastland’s Programming and Software Development program earned first place in the nation in the Virtual Software Engineering Team contest. Their classmates Vaskar Adhikari (Reynoldsburg High School eSTEM Academy), Gabe Carmo (Pickerington High School North), Ty Howard (Bloom-Carroll High School), and Jalen Ivy (Pickerington High School Central) earned second place in Virtual Web Application Team competition.

Programming and Software Development students Ashaunti Nelson (Reynoldsburg High School Bell Academy), Meera Poudel (Reynoldsburg High School Bell Academy), Allen Tello (Whitehall-Yearling High School), and Chris VanHouten (Groveport-Madison High School) placed in the top 10 nationwide in the Web Development Team competition. 

BPA is the leading Career and Technical Student Organization (CTSO) for students pursuing careers in business management, office administration, information technology, and other related career fields. The Ohio Association is the second largest state association within BPA with approximately 7,200 secondary and postsecondary members. 

Print This Article
View text-based website